Determining Drivers for a Sealed Box?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
For my first project, I am looking to do a mid-cost HT system for a secondary TV room in house. To keep it as simple as possible I will start with 2-way front speakers in a sealed box.

My question is, how do I determine which speakers are best in a sealed box, vs. a ported box. Or will all speakers work well both ways? In the Loudspeaker cookbook, when talking about LF woofers, he mentions fs/qes should be around 50 for a sealed box, and 100 for a ported box. He also says it should have a larger x-max. When looking at 5 - 6.5 inch speakers, most are around 100.

Any help would be apreciated.

Well done in researching the LDCookbook. Nice to see someone doing their homework.

I'm no expert on closed boxes but you should look for a driver with a low Fs, EBP around 50 (up to 80?), Qts >0.3 and a long Xmax. Also look at the manufacturer's data sheets as this can often tell you if it's suitable.

The Peerless 6 1/2" CSX (850122) works in a closed box of 10-15 litres (EBP=67 to 83 depending on whose info you look at) and is recommended by Peerless for vented or closed.

Hope this helps.

Hi,

One of my objections to Dickason is that you already need to understand what is it all about to understand the book.

You can put almost any speaker in a closed box. If it is your first project then start with a simple 2 way. Then a 17 cm mid-low speaker is the best way to go IMHO. You don’t get that low but you get most times good results.

The formulas are simple. What you need is VAS, Qt and Fs of the speaker unit. Then with the volume of the box (in liters) you can calculate the Q of the box, Qb and the new resonance frequency of the speaker+box, Fb:

Qb = Qt*SQRT((Vas/Vol_Box)+1)

A Qb between 0.6 and 0.71 gives a reasonable good alignment.

Fb then becomes: Fb = Fs*Qb/Qt