How to convert 2 way design into 2.5 way.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear all,

First off, I'm not an expert in designing x-overs and that is why I'm here, To seek help.

I'm in the verge of making a new speaker, I already have the peerless HDS tweeters, I'm planning to use them in a 2.5 way design using 2 peerless 7 inch woofers per side.

When I was surfing the web, I found a 2 way project from our fellow member Jay_WJ using the drivers I'm planning to use, I then downloaded the dataset from his site ( thanks Jay !).

I added 1 woofer and inductor in the simulation using speaker workshop , to make it a 2.5 way, But I'm not sure what I did right or wrong in the simulation.

Below is a screen shot of the simulation I did.

My questions are:

Is it gonna sound good?
Are there wrong component values in x-over circuit?
Do you have any opinion about it?
Is there something wrong with the design?

Btw, The box design will be tilted to about 10 degrees, so I reduced the woofer offset in the simulation to -1 inch, Is this the correct way of using the offset feature in the speaker workshop? The x-over freq. is about 2.4Khz

Thank you , In advance.

Attachments

• 123.jpg
    123.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 684
Hi,

I'm not sure how you have modeled it but something is seriously
wrong. The level of the tweeter is the same as in Jay_WJ 's design
and simply put it should not be, it it should need to be 5 to 6dB
higher, depending on the relative levels of BSC of the two designs.

Edit : Sorry missed the resetting of R9, but 10R||2R is not the way to do it.

One way of doing a 2.5 way is a lowpass filter for both drivers, this
connected directly to the bass/ mid driver and via an inductor to the
bass only driver, for the given c/o frequency strongly recommended.

FWIW I cannot see the point of the LCR across the tweeter.

:)/sreten.

"...but 10R||2R is not the way to do it."