• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Headphones with a Tube Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to this whole DIY thing, and am in the process of building my first tube amp. Because I have one speaker that needs refurbing, I wanted to be able to use headphones with the amp for a while.

I searched here and googled, and found a link at Elliot Sound Products in Australia (http://sound.westhost.com/project100.htm) for a Headphone Adapter for Power Amplifiers. The one-channel schematic is shown on the link above.

The resistance values quoted are for matching a 120 ohm impedance headphone, and a maximum 5v. My headphones are AKG K271's, with the following specs:

91 dB SPL/mW Sensitivity
200 mW Max Input Power
55 ohms Rated Impedance

The amp I am building will produce on watt or less (more on that later).

So, in trying to understand the schematic, I need to know if the following is correct:

1. To match the impedance, the R2 resistor needs to be 55 ohms? Or was R2 just coincidentally set to 120?

2. R1 and R2 together are a voltage divider.

a. If I want 200mW max, at 55 ohms, the max voltage would
be E = Sqrt(P x R) or E = Sqrt(.2 * 55)=3.3v

b. But if I produce 1W at 8 ohms, the amp voltage is E =
Sqrt(1*8) = 2.8v, so I don't need to do anything with the
voltage. Does this mean both R1 and R2 are out of the
circuit?

c. R3 seemed to be used to bring R1 and R3 back up to the 120
ohm level in the example. So if no R1 (and R2) are out, then
R3 is 55 ohms?

So, being a slightly confused newbie, I get to the 55 ohm resistor answer, I'm just a little unsure if I need to put it across the outputs, or in series, or both?