Voice coil heating and the performance of passive XO, plus my funny experience at HTG

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
(This may not be relevant to the forum. If so, this can be removed without warning or notification. I understand that. Otherwise, the link below will be a good read about the issue of "the effect of voice coil heating on the performance of passive crossover.")

Hi,

I'm relatively new to DIY speaker building. I've been trying to be a serious learner, spending a lot of my leisure time these days reading useful information and asking questions by visiting several internet forums.

Perhaps I was TOO serious. I was finally expelled from HT Guide!! I think I acted too early before realizing what kind of forum the HTG IS---a very closed, narrow circle of people. Especially, it doesn't like a newcomer who SEEMS to be reluctant to join the adoration of a few important people.

In contrast, diyAudio is not partial, with various kinds of people contributing to valuable knowledge about DIY audio.

Anyway, at HTG I started a thread to ask a question about an issue, about which I really wished to have good knowledge. I hoped some experts could help me on this issue. Yes, I was very serious. Some people tried to answer my question. But unlike a usual newcomer, I didn't accept the answers as they were. I'm a scientist and not a simple person. When some statements or observations about a problem are given, I usually think of factors and variables that might not be taken into account in them. So, not being fully satisfied, I raised possibilities that could be considered additionally, hoping to get more detailed explanation, possibly from some experts.

Here's the thread if you want to take a look: http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthread.php4?t=26211

Sadly enough, it was only after I was expelled from the forum that I received some better explanation about the issue.