• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hammond 270 series power transformer?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Could anyone that has had experience with Hammond 270 series power transformers tell me if they are accurately rated?

If their Classic 272JX transformer has a secondary rated at 300V, with a 115V primary input. Is the rated 300V output what I should expect to get within a few Volts plus or minus?

Or, is there a variance between manufactured batches and could possibly have a high tolerance level?

Thanks

Norris

I have no experience with the 272JX, but every other Hammond (and the Hammond sourced Allieds) that I have used ran on the high side, often 10 to 15% high. My line voltage is typically 122 to 124 volts which only explains 5 to 8% of it. The voltage will vary somewhat with load, but I still measure 10% high with a transformer operating at, or slightly above its rated capacity.

I have used at least 10 each of the Allied 5K56VG and 6K7VG. All of them have been consistently high.

just one thing that I noticed only today was the current ratings for the transformers on Angela and, I assume, most other places are for CAPACITOR INPUT. Which means, for choke input, you can multiply the current by (95/65). A 200mA transformer becomes a 290mA transformer, etc. The current bonus is great, and the reduced stress on a vacuum rectifier is great. I'm having problems figuring out why people would ever NOT use choke input, it's barely more expensive to get a bigger choke if you already were planning a pi filter :smash:

I wouldn't abandon the Hammonds just because they run high. Take this in to account when designing your circuit.