diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Power Supplies (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/power-supplies/)
-   -   Variable SMPS (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/power-supplies/95342-variable-smps.html)

TroelsM 30th January 2007 07:48 PM

Variable SMPS
 
Hi All.

I've got a couple of old Lambda powersuplys capable of 120V/1.7A. Problem is that both are dead due to a fault in the potentiometer controlling the voltage.

Well. One solution is to fix it, but there's a number of design-issues and I would rather use some of the components to build something else.

So. I've got 2 transformers capable of something like 120V AC / 300VA with caps (2200uF/200V).

In the junk-case there's also a lot of mosfets, all kind of heavy ferrite's and most parts needed to do a variable SMPS.

The question is: Is it feasible to build a SMPS with something like 0-80V / 2A? Voltage and current-limit should be variable.

If its switch-mode it should be possible to get a lower voltage and a bigger current, right? Like 40V / 4A ?

My thinking is that it will be a bit harder to kill my self if I use the transformer from the Lambda PSU instead of doing a off-line PSU. Would like to learn. Would not like to get killed.

I Think a lot of people here could use a big PSU for testing electronics. If I get something to work I'll of course share schematics, PCB's and any info.

Anyhow. I've had some basic switch mode-curses and I'm an electronic engineer, but I could use some pointers or links to get started. I've got a 100Mhz analog scope and acces to PSpice/Orcad.

Thanks in advance for the help

Regards TroelsM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 17.65%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio

Wiki