Bipole Sub design needs critique

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need to build two subwoofers to serve as sofa end tables in my HT room. The Bipole push-push design seems to be the right configuration since it doesn't "walk" and I can leave items on it during use. The height must be 24" and the baffle width 14" but the depth can vary as needed. I selected the PE RSS315HF as a starting point since John Krutke favors them and the price is reasonable. A sealed box is my 1st choice.

The numbers are as follows:
RSS315HF
FS 23Hz
Vas 3.0 cu. ft.
Qts 0.44

With a Qtc of 0.707
Vb 1.005 cu. ft.
F3 44.44Hz

I assume that the volume should be doubled to accommmodate the two driver bipole configuration. This puts the volume at 2.01 cu. ft. with dimensions of 24"x 14"x 10.3"

I realize that this is very simple but it is my first attempt to design and your input will be very welcome

Ray

Thanks Prieter.....the internal volume will be maintained by adjusting the depth dimension as needed. I plan to use 3/4" plywood with internal bracing for rigidity.

What about the volume...is it correct?
Can the F3 be lowered?
Is the driver a good pick for the application?
My HT room is a spare bedroom and is only 13'x 14'.

Ray

Hi,

You’ve made a good choice of drivers but my advice is to download this program: http://www.pvconsultants.com/audio/reflection/downloads/room060d.exe and map/predict your possible room modes if you do not have measurement capability like a RTA before attempting to build smaller than rec. boxes.

In the .xls,Place your woofers at the relative positions you are suggesting and thereafter pick your listening position and run the program.
Save a screen dump of the plot. Copy to Paint.
Do the same thing with your main speakers and overlay the result on the first plot and evaluate your low-end room gain.