Error in power amplifier schematic

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,

Here is the schematic of the power amp section of Kyocera R-861 receiver. It has MOSFETs in the driver stage. I have very little knowledge in the audio amplifier design so please excuse any of my mistakes. I believe there is an error in the schematic. The value of R520L is marked as 180ohms, but I believe it should be 2.2K to have the symmetrical open loop gain for positive and negative swings of the signal. Am I correct? If so will this kind of asymmetry have any impact on frequency response and the distortion of the amp? Should I change that value to 2.2K. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Routhun

Attachments

• r-861-amp1.jpg
    r-861-amp1.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 673
AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
ilimzn said:
No, Q508L is the wrongly marked one, it should be 180 ohms, instead of 2.2k.

Q508L is a transistor.

I think if you work out the collector currents, assuming Q505 and Q506 have the same currents, you probably will find that the Vb-to supply of the drivers is different and that the different resistor still gives the same current. But that's from just a quick look.

Jan Didden

routhun said:
Thanks ilimzn!

Hi Janneman,

I can understand Ilimzn is referring to R519L instead of Q508L.

So my question is should I replace R519L with 180ohms? Will it make any difference in sound?

Routhun

I don't know if make a difference in sound but surely it make difference in good working of circuit (which actually, if the R519 value is real and not only - as i think - a print mistake on schematic, is severely unbalanced).

Ciao and merry xmas to all! :)
Piercarlo

GK

Disabled Account
Joined 2006
routhun said:
Thanks ilimzn!

Hi Janneman,

I can understand Ilimzn is referring to R519L instead of Q508L.

So my question is should I replace R519L with 180ohms? Will it make any difference in sound?