Audax TW025A2 vs. Vifa DX25TG05-04

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have yet to see a Vifa tweeter that doesn't have a removeable dome and hence a removeable plate, but I also have yet to see a Vifa tweeter being used without its plate and/or rear mounted.

After having seen and handled a T33 in the flesh this afternoon I noticed that the dome material is unlike anything I have ever seen on a Vifa, it's much lighter and softer, like a Scan Speak.

well, let me see how the vifa DX25 works out. there's been a lot of criticism about it's 60 degree off axis response. two points. one. who seriously listens at 60 degrees off axis? two. did you see the on axis response? pretty fricken linear to 40khz! not perfect, but impressive nonetheless. a worthwhile experiment at the very least. of couse, i'm still learning all this and do not profess to be a skilled DIY'er by any stretch. but ya gotta start somewhere!

as far as finding NOS or used T33b, it might be a last resort and a resort i might not financially want to take for these reasons:

1. all T33, new or used, will have hardened ferro-fluid from my understanding. kind of like old foam surrounds. whether the driver was used or sealed in a box. the foam still rots. know what i mean?

2. the T33b was pretty much known as the biggest let down since the hype of being the successor to the famed T27. if you read old stereophile reviews, they loved everything about the KEF 105/2 and 107/2 except for the HF response.