Rotel rb850

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Rotel RB850 Schematic Errors

I have been researching the Rotel RB850 amplifier for several years.

I have compared it to the schematics of similar Rotel amplifiers.

I saw a schematic on this forum that seems to have at least one error.
It looked like a scan of a photocopy that had things erased.

I have redrawn the schematic based on the one on this forum,
similar ones found elsewhere, and my RB850.

I will answer any questions you may have (as far as I know).

There is a thread with this similar question on this forum

Sincerely,

Chris Browne
Ground Noise Industries

Rotel RB850 Marked Schematic

This was posted by member "transducer" and marked in red
by "gni"

Attachments

• rb850_errors.jpg
    rb850_errors.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 973
What are the mods you did on this amp?

Hi Gni,

What are the mods you did on this amp? I have a vector research integrated amplifier VA-100 with exactly the same power amplifier stage, and would like to tweak that amp. How does this amp sounds? and the tweaks improved the sound?

Thanks,
routhun

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Chris,
I replaced the single turn bias adjust pot with a 15 turn unit. . .
I am doing my best to figure out why you would do that.

You should install a new 270° unit at the very least, or put the old one back in after cleaning the slip ring and wiper.

What you people fail to realize is that the multiturn types generally have a much smaller contact area and are not intended to pass DC current.

I'm actually getting tired of hearing about this ill informed "upgrade".

-Chris