problems building zen 5 amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm a computer scientist who is lost in a EE's domain, so please forgive my ignorance.

I am trying to build my first DIY amp. I thought I would build the Zen 5 amp, as it can be built with point to point wiring. I thought I would build a test board and power it with my workbench power supply (before trying to build that big power supply). The max voltage on the workbench power supply is 30V, so I can get +/- 15V rails (at 3A). I _think_ (I don't _know_) this is enough voltage to at least get some noise from the amp (which is my goal before building the big power supply). Can someone confirm this guess?

I built the amp following Fig. 3 of Nelson's, "The Zen Variations - Part 5 The Complementary Zen" article. I'm as sure as I can be that I have built the circuit correctly. Because I'm using +/- 15V rails, I put two 47.5K resistors in parallel for R5 and for R6 (the value of R5 is ~24K, and the value of R6 is ~24K) to be able to use the pots to set the bias.

One of the first things I noticed was that by using only a Volt Meter, I really couldn't get the DC offset to vary much. I could not get the DC offset to vary across 0V. I tried a different meter, but with about the same results. I resorted to connecting 2 oscilloscope probes between the gate resistors and the gates (between R7/Q2 and the other between R8/Q8). With the scope, I could bias the transistors equally (but opposite polarity). The test bench power supply has an ammeter, so I adjusted the pots to fed about 1.5A equally though Q1 and Q2. The VM values across R9&10 and R11&12 matched Nelson's measurements (Ie: ~350mV). I don't remember the exact value, but the DC offset was very small (<.01mV). I've tested so many things that I'm getting fuzzy about my measurements, but I think I'm supplying either ~8V or ~12V to the gates.