Nice to meet you all :-)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, my name is Oliver, I'm a 25-year-old student from Germany.

I'm DIY-enthusiast since I was 12... I started with building audio circuits and that's what I still do... I got the idea of high end later, however. Probably after growing through listening to this awful disco music and beginning to realize what a difference carefully designed audio equipment makes when listening to real music...

My current setup is a two-way-system consisting of an ESS Air Motion Tranformer and an Eton bass driver. I'm using the Heils from 800 Hz upwards. I'm really happy with the speakers and probably won't change anything soon.

Currently I use an Accuphase P-500 and Marantz CD-10, that's only because I build stuff and people buy it from me some days after :) The P-500 and CD10 sound ok, however, they will be replaced soon by a DIY digital preamp and poweramp which should be the best result of all the experience I gathered until now.

That's why I joined this forum: Maybe I can get additional opinions / experiences / tips from people for my project. I'd be even more happy if I could help someone with something. Let's see :)

Yes, I'm using the big ones: AMT-1.

I'm more into electronics, but a friend of mine is making a living from building and selling speakers... As you can guess, I'm very often at his house discussing ideas, listening to all the new stuff he did and A/B-comparing speakers. There is almost no bass driver, no tweeter he hasn't yet played around with.

He was the one who first tried the Heils and I was immediatly fascinated by the new dimension of transparency and resolution they offer. We listened to a lot of experimental speakers w/ the Heils, including 2-way and 3-way setups.