Active CrossOver

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

Ive just been converted from making a passive crossover to an active

and would like to some help in designing it, I have no knowledge on them how ever and can not find any books explaining them

I now know they work off intergrated circit chips and fixed cap values...but how do you figure what chip I need?

all the crossovers are at 8 ohms

My specs I want for this are: these are the easier options

2nd order highpass @ 18hz
2nd order lowpass @ 80hz if it has to be fixed (varible if possible)

or the same as above but with varible highpass (if thats even poossible)

and the most wanted crossover if possible would be:

varible highpass from 10hz - 25hz
varible low pass from 40hz - <500
switchable highpass orders 1,2,4
switchable lowpass orders 1,2,4

I think this bottem design is extremely difficult from what i have learned so far

oh and tell me how difficult it is to make :)

Here is some reading: http://www.linkwitzlab.com/filters.htm

You should get a better idea of what will be involved in making them work after perusing that for a while. As for difficulty, the circuits themselves are pretty simple for fixed value passive components, but variable xovers are indeed complicated by the need for precise gang pots.

Also, the active filter group buy contains some good information, especially the excellent manual that Bob and Jens wrote. Here is a link to the post with the manual: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?postid=886946#post886946

Hope this gets you started.

David

Hi Toast,
I'm guessing you want all this adjustability to allow experimentation and thus find the best set up for you final crossover.

If you want to experiment then buy a cheap or secondhand Behringer dxc2496. You can download a manual from the web to see just how flexible it is at crossovers and equalisation.