strange amplifier behavior, help needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, im a newbie in electronics, i have been making some amplfiers, mainly using integrated circuits, but now im trying with transistors. Im currently building (trying to) an esp p3 ( http://sound.westhost.com/project03.htm ) , the problem is very weird (at least for me), when i start the amplifier i hear some audio at low volume and distorted, then sometimes (apparntly random) the volume rises very high and it sounds good (the distortion seems to dissapiar) but then in some seconds it start degrading (volume goes down slowly and distortion rises again) until the audio fully dissapears. This sequence repeats. I also noticed that when i touch the BD139 driver (the one connected to the bc559) causes some kind of effect, sometimes the sound come back by doing this.

Sorry for bothering but i have tryed many things with no success :( and im getting mad of it :hot: , any suggestions would be very appreciated, thanks you in advance.

ps: sorry for my bad english, i hope you could understand me.

Hi,

What you are describing is the amplifier moving in and out of it's operating point. I think you have an open-circuit, perhaps a bad solder-joint or forgotten connection.

Almost all transistor amplifiers rely on DC feedback to stabilize the operating point. In this amp the path is from the centre of the output transistors through the 22k to the right-side transistor of the LTP (Long Tail Pair or Differential Amplifier). You can see that this provides a little negarive feedback at AC (so the amplifier has gain at AC), but a lot of negative feedbcak at DC for DC stability.

Your English is fine :)