Good speaker kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
As you can tell from the subject I am in the market for a really good speaker kit, the max I want to spend is $1000. I have been scouring the internet for the past two months and I think I have found a good kit, it's the S5 MT from Bemberg Engineering: http://www.bamberglab.com/s5mt.shtml

What do you guys think? It's a bit over my budget but I would buy it piece by piece.
Are there any better sounding kit around for a similar price?

Al suggestions are welcome.

Thanks
Lawrence

Can you tell us more about your

1. Room
2. Room
3. Room
4. Listening positioning and loudness preferences.

IME there is nothing wrong with low sensitivity speakers IF you have lots of good clean power to drive them (>100 watts per channel) AND you intend to place them in a small to medium sized room, listening at small to medium volume levels.

It seems that almost all 2 driver 2 ways will fall into this category of mid to low 80s sensitivity.

In a bigger room and at live-like levels (80dB sustained and 110dB transient peaks not at 1 metre but at typical seated/standing position say 3 metres away) I agree with Bill, you want something higher in sensivity and, higher power handling.

Thanks for the replys so far.

My room is actually my dorm room so its not very big, actually its small, its about 13 x 19 feet. My listening position is about 1.5 meters away. I dont mind low sensitivity that much, I have plans to build a pair of UCD400 amps anyway. I listen at moderate levels mostly.

Thanks

For nearfield listening and that kind of budget I think you are better off buying a pair of really good full range drivers and use a sub to fill in the low bass if you need to.