• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

89 db is it enough ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everione,
I'm new to this forum and (almost) new to DIY tubes. I would very much appreciate if you would gave me opinion on the following:

My room is of a moderate size 10' X 24' X 9'. My speakers are old Altecs Lansing 1012 with sensitivity of 89 db. I'm thinking to build SE but I'm not sure if 4-5 W would be suficien to drive this speakers. Altough, I have built a tube preamp before I don't have experiance with tube amplifiers.
Also, if somebody would sugest output tubes for this project. This is my first project so I don't wont to start with something very expensive and complicated. I'm not very much interested in kit building. Thanks for your help.

If you listen to music very quietly, you might get by. But let's see how limited this setup is. Let's assume that when you say "89 dB" you're saying "89dB/2.83V/m." And let's further assume a frequncy region where the impedance actually looks like 8 ohms. In that region, 1 watt will give you 89dB at a meter, 4W will get you to 95dB on peaks. Move away to a more reasonable 2m listening distance, and the peak SPL drops to 89dB. That's not terribly loud and you're running the SE amp in the power range where its distortion performance is likely to be terrible. And remember, these are PEAK sound levels, not average- the average SPL is more likely to be 20dB or more below this, say 65-70dB.

Two solutions: more sensitive speakers (like 95dB/2.83V/m or better) or an amp with decent power and distortion performance (i.e., not SE).

SY said: