• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

WTB: gainclone

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

Let me start by appologizing for not showing the requisite DIY enthusiasm you all share here. I admire it tremendously and hope to make DIY component building a part of my own life when the time is right. For now I've got zero experience with circuit, etc, plus I've got too much on my plate these day (2nd child due in less than a month) to start learning. So please excuse my ignorance and consider lending me your expertise.

I'm currently using a D.C. Darling (which I obviously did not build myself) and I've sincerely miss the tight imaging of a SS. The Darling, sweet as she sounds, is a little weak on imaging (perhaps my Darling or a simple trait of 1626 tubes). Plus, I'd like to keep the tubes around for but for daily listen something less incindiary will be safer with children amuck. Anyhow, I'd like to try using a well built gainclone with an equivilant (or heartier) amount of power than the Darling. If you have experience building these amps and a good reputation for successful design, I'd be very happy to commission your help. The amp does not need to be newly built, in fact, I'd prefer to buy one that has been listened too and deemed rightous.

Please email me offers or advice on how to proceed (perhaps somebody here routinely builds and sells?). Also, if it makes mucha of a difference, I'll be driving Cornwalls soon enough but am currently driving (conservatively rated) 87dB/W/m monitors.

Thanks,
Steven

more details