"Total Aural Dissonance" - the proper metric?

Cheever recommends a "figure of merit" -- Total Aural Dissonance -- achieved by a dynamic intermodulation measurement -- as being more consistent with what the ear actually hears (and creates due to the self-harmonics in the ear.)

I read Cheever's Master's thesis (linked as a 1 meg PDF here: http://w3.mit.edu/cheever/www/cheever_thesis.pdf and was wondering whether anyone on DIYAUDIO wants to offer a critique? Cheever lays the blame at high negative feedback, btw.

i guess that there was some discussion on RAHE (rec.audio.high.end), and I don't really pay that much attention to the high end audio magazines.

i know from my wife's work in molecular biology (getting her PhD at age 55) the work which goes into a thesis or peer-review journal article is astounding -- it was so much simpler 30 years ago when I got my masters. she's been getting home every night ~10:00 pm -- maybe I should check to see if she has a paramour! javascript:smilie(':bigeyes:')

Some people here can't read - cheever's thesis was a master’s thesis submitted to University of New Hampshire

it's still embarrassing to some of us that Sussman gave it any attention but the cheever thesis pdf is merely hosted on one of mit's machines, hardly an endorsement by the institute

I think there may be some merit in the theory that some distortion can be masked if the non-linearity that causes it is similar to the way that human hearing is non-linear. (Brain-wave: that would explain the seemingly ludicrous and drunken notion of there being audible differences when changing the "absolute polarity" of loudspeakers, etc....)

I've done a few subjective and rather unscientific experiments before on this using a modular soft-synth, and I compared:

-a distorted sine wave with harmonics that decay nearly exponentially as frequency increases, where the 2nd harmonic is at around -40dB

with