2 Stereo in's, 2 Stereo out's, USB DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I'd like to build a 2 Stereo in's, 2 Stereo out's, USB DAC/ADC.

I'm pretty new to working with digital audio, but have experience of building analogue equipment and also computer programming experience.

I have looked at the PCM2902 and wondered if 2 of these could be used with one USB connection? Is there anything similar that would be able to achieve 2 Stereo in's, 2 Stereo out's with one USB connection?

Any help would be very much appreciated,

Thanks

Dan Morton

cheers for the reply:)

i am actually looking to build a device with 2 separate stereo in's and 2 separate stereo out's, i.e. 4 stereo channels, 2 in, 2 out.

I think the best solution using the PCM2902 or similar would be to use 2 of them, in one box, as u can daisy chain usb devices together. This would mean that technically there are 2 usb devices in the box, but daisy chained one after the other.

Does anyone know if it would be possible to get these 2 devices to appear as one in windows or another operating system, customising the driver perhaps?

dan.

Hello Dan,
I have some experience with the PCM2902 and PCM2906 (the same device but that reports to windows USB manager a limit current of 500 mA instead of 100 mA).
I have realized these 2 devices with the PCM 2906:

http://purebits.com/usbpreview.html

and tried to use more than one at the same time (attaching to different USB ports). I must say that it work! and you can have a multiple of 2 INs and OUTs..
Anyway I think that between the stereo channels of different devices the sync could be not perfect (although very acceptable for some uses like multitrack music recording of short songs) because the different devices use a different clock.