• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First time builder, need advice.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a first time builder and I would like to build a tube amp. I am looking for the right schematic for my budget and results.

Is the 300b all that much better for the expense or can I save some money and get similar results ?

Is there a popular all around great schematic out there (Parts availablity and costs ) ?

Where is the best source for transformers ( quality and price) ?

Any tips or things to stay away from doing from personal mistakes would be great :)

Thanks all !

G

Joined 2002
apetersn said:
I am a first time builder and I would like to build a tube amp. I am looking for the right schematic for my budget and results.

Is the 300b all that much better for the expense or can I save some money and get similar results ?

Is there a popular all around great schematic out there (Parts availablity and costs ) ?

Where is the best source for transformers ( quality and price) ?

Any tips or things to stay away from doing from personal mistakes would be great :)

Thanks all !

First what is your budget? Second, what is the sensitivity of your speakers? Post back and we'll go from there.

Re: Re: First time builder, need advice.

G said:

First what is your budget? Second, what is the sensitivity of your speakers? Post back and we'll go from there.

I would like to do this for around 400.00, I thought I could build from the ground up and then if I need to I could thow some more money at it. I am finding that the big expense is transformers. It blows me away how much some wound wire costs!