Philips CD104 tweaks

Hi,

Planning to mod my CD104.

Anyone suggests any mods ? I have replaced the captive leads.

I was thinking of first looking at the capas in the analogue section. My main problem is how you get the analogue board out . I figure you go in from underneath and remove a torx screw holding the board in place. Is there much more dismantling to be done , or is there a special way of removing the card ?

Here is what I did

Thanks to Guido for the CDX manual

I studied the schematics and decided to try a few tweaks. I didn't want to :

1) Risk this ancient machine not working at all

2) Change the sound too much i.e destroy what I liked

3) Buy any new parts - so I raided my parts bin

Basically I :

1) Replaced the DC blocking caps on the decode board (underneath ) with wire links (caps 2573 & 2608). I use a Quad 44 which has DC blocking so these were unneccesary

2) Replaced the opamp decoupling caps with cerafines 25v/100uF (2624 & 2627) - seen in the picture

3) replaced the PSU board caps 2451 - 2456 with Elna RSH (16v /100uF) with the excpetion of 2455 which I used a 16v /100uF OSCON

still a bit hard at the top end but I think that it has greater imagery and depth.

Attachments

• 04507004.jpg
    04507004.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 11,031
hi

some nice mods there. I have 2 players (the early gray and the later black model of the 104)

i have successfully got the black ne working and have replaced the audio leads as they were almost hanginf off:)

I have just one fault in the servo borad of the other player to sort out (the laser skips off the track after a minute of playing or so)

would you be so kind as to let me hve a copy of the service manual/schematic?

I have a .pdf guid to servicing this machine which might be of interest to you

kind regards
Alan

wahee@fs2.com