Need help getting this basic DIY amp up and running (DC offset Problems)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I am an electronics engineer that usually deals with non audio class d amplifiers. I just recently got interested in linear audio amplifiers and was intrigued by the how low cost a basic linear amp can be to thrown together. So after a bunch of reading through the forum and the art of electronics, I put together this amp which I spiced in LTspice and all seems well. It has pretty much all the basic parts that seem to be pretty common so I think you guys will be able to help. Initial start-up, It has high frequency oscillations so I increase the miller compensation cap. Surprisingly it needs to be much higher than ltspice says to become stable. The second problem and currently the biggest problem is that there is a 7.3V positive dc offset on the output. I tried messing with most stuff like the current sources by probing resistors in parallel. I tried finger probing around to find a location that finger resistance and capacitance would tweak the circuit response. Everything resulted in an identical output except altering the 3k feedback resistor. When I decrease the feedback resistor the AC gain decreases as expected but the DC offset also decreases, it seems by the same proportional amount. The AC gain is also completely wrong. It is supposed to be around 30 and it looks like the gain is around 2. I built this on a whim so it is powered by +-12v 6A laptop style supplies. I also intended on using 2n5551 NPN transistors but couldn't find them for the build so they are all 2n3904s which appears ok with low rails. I also have 2sd2390 and 2SB1560 on the final output stage. These are all what I had available to build with without ordering anything. I have no intentions on getting prefect hifi on this build I just want to get it working to play with. I probed the the -diff i