Point to Point wiring

Not exactly what I had in mind........

H.H.

Attachments

• proto1.jpg
    proto1.jpg
    82.9 KB · Views: 2,128
point to point

This is not my work! I found it in a newsgroup. My one off, point to point experiments tend to be more three dimensional. I nominate the picture on page 9 of the following link for the " I was in a hurry to prototype it" award. I have done some equally frightening test circuits for telecom. I built a couple with surface mount parts with a microscope! The solder joints looked like huge rocks under the scope. I also was forced to swear in three languages during the ordeal..... (English, German, and French.)

http://www.passdiy.com/pdf/a40.pdf (page 9)

H.H.

P.S. I hear that the green clip leads sound the best.

Harry,
from own experience i would dare to state that p2p wiring is the ony way to go sonically.

When i was a newbie, i always was afraid of p2p wirings with unpredicable stray capacitances, layout, intra-circuit crosstalk, everything unpredictable, the guy succeding in it was either a master or very lucky or both.

Today i understand a bit more about the subject, i know that stray capacitances of a p2p wiring are much lower and i use gridstoppers anyway and no neg.feedback if possible, so why bother about HF oscillations? And crosstalk is much more probable on PCBs , in a 3D p2p wiring hardly 2 wires are parallel to induce crosstalk. With p2p, you can keep short those wires you want to be short.
I am quite convinced that 1st try'n'success probability for any of us is much higher with a p2p wiring than with a PCB layout.

Oops, forgot, p2p sounds better. Much better.