Power Amplifiers Preamps Yamaha p2200

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Gday
I bought a Yamaha p2200. Im after anyone who can send me some advice, some specs, some useful information about this amp.
ABout it -
One channel is broken it reads 80vDC on the speaker teminals. Any suggestions, likely faults? I looked at the PCB for that channel briefly and it didnt have any visible damage. Where to start testing? WHat reading i should get if i test certain parts? Schematics?

Now im new to the whole power amp thing(only used hifi b4) It has cannon inputs - does a preamp have to be used or is there somthing wrong with the working channel on my amp. if i plug a cd player straight in its very quiet. If i put an amp between them it goes off up into 300w!???

Anyone who knows anything about this amp can you please Email me.
Thankyou
Daniel

Merry CHristmas

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi

As for plugging the CD player in, it shouldn't be 'very quiet'. You may need a preamp to reach the full output power, but you should be able to make some noise with just the CD player. Make sure it is connected between pins 1 (ground), and 2 (line) on the XLR socket. Also short the unused pin 3 to ground - this will be essential if the amp has transformer balanced inputs.

Hope this helps,
Tim.

yes.. the amp... fixing..

G'day
I have been looking into this amp