• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

For Sale: One TC Sounds HE-15 cube (similar to Stryke Power 15)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have taken it off Ebay and am now selling it for a flat $1000.

Chicago area only – this item weighs more than 100 pounds!

This is a hand built subwoofer of my own design, based on the recommendations of the driver’s manufacturer - TC Sounds. I have been designing subwoofers for many years and have personal contacts at TC Sounds. I built this unit for the sole purpose of reselling it, and have not used it other than to test.

This subwoofer is designed as a “high-end killer”. Indeed, the only commercial offering I can think of that even comes close is the Krell Master Reference Subwoofer at $28,000! It uses two of the same drivers this sub uses in a sealed enclosure that is equalized to bring up the low bass. In my opinion, a PR alignment is much better with these drivers. The assisted sealed arrangement will have more distortion in the lower octaves.

This subwoofer uses the renowned HE-15 driver from TC Sounds. This is one of the finest drivers available today, and is miles above what you find in a typical commercial subwoofer. It has a real useable peak-to-peak excursion of 2.75” and a displacement of over 6 liters! In a test performed by Tom Noussaine, a prototype of this subwoofer in a box essentially the same as the box I am selling here outperformed the previous favorite, the Velodyne F-1800 by a sizable margin! At 20Hz, the Velodyne put out 106db, while the HE-15 put out 110db! Mind you, that Velodyne is an 18” driver, versus the 15” HE!