I always wanted to ask...why Bias voltage on ESL?

Joined 2005
Paid Member
OK, since I am not an Electrical Engineer (Mechanical) I have always been puzzled why we need bias voltage on ESL diaphragm.

The AC amp voltage out (assume 10V) enters single step up tranny (assume 70:1), creating voltage on the stators of +350VAC and -350VAC (700VAC across stators). The diaphragm in between the stators is at +5000VDC. Doesn't the stator at -350VAC have a bigger delta (5350V) than the +350VAC stator (4650V) causing more "pull" than "push", thus holding back the diaphragm? Why not a much lesser voltage to reduce the delta, or Zero V (magnetized diaphragm?) for true push / pull? This example is when amp's speaker out is referenced to ground. Should ESLs work "better" when your amp outs are bridged (both speaker outs are opposite to each other and not zero)

Why not make the stators fixed voltage at +5000VDC and -5000VDC and the Diaphragm voltage stepped up from amp for true push pull?

Am I thinking of this all wrong? Am I just an electrical retard? Sorry for the lame question...

There I feel better now....I can continue to fart with my ML CLS and Acoustat panels with a little more understanding after someone here clues me in.

Last edited:
Joined 2005
Paid Member
Oh hell, I am just going to ask. To eliminate the above "push / pull imbalance" situation, I was thinking of doing the following:

+5000VDC and -5000VDC Bias on stators (or much less voltage). Mylar in between was to have magnepan style wire running up and down the mylar (equiv 4 ohm) and the amp drives the mylar/wire like a magnepan speaker between teh two stators. I have CLS Panels and was going to try a few experiments. I know I need to be careful of the panels and make sure the I don't arc...

Crazy? Maybe I should just stick with building Diesel Hydrotreaters (I work in the oil industry)

Last edited:
Hello john65b,

Lots of good and inter-related questions.