Expert Advice needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

A friend of mine has a brewery and last night I hosted a maggot racing event for him (really and a great success it was too!)

However the audio was dreadful! Imagine a large metal room, with some wooden tables and chairs, a bar and barrels a half wooden floor and half tiles.

I want to suggest an idea to him about what type of speakers to put in and where, not so much for music, but for announcements, who's won what etc, commentary (those maggots don't sell the tickets!) put clear enough so that people around the room can hear, without having it annoyingly loud.

The building is about 30m square (ish) and 10m high.

Any advice as to where I should start looking? What kind of speakers, amps, does the type of microphone matter?

I'm not a total novice, but I'm closer to that end of the spectrum than the other.

Thanks

Liam

Having mulled this over a little, I think perhaps the best bet would be to focus mainly on the room treatment.

A simple voice/background music setup could be as simple as 4x Mission 760i speakers, and a suitable amplifier or two (make sure its good for 50w cleanly into 8ohm). Chuck in a small mixing desk with a mic and phono input and you're good to go.
The reason I suggest those speakers is that they're fairly cheap (2nd hand, see eBay, etc), sound good, and go fairly loud for their size. You'd be pushing it if you wanted music at a medium to loud level throughout the room, but like I say - for vocal announcements and background music, I think they'd fit the bill well.

Apply soft furnishings (curtains, etc) liberally around the room to try to kill off reflections, and you're good to go.

Chris

An SM58 is probably not the best choice of mic for the commentator as the polar pick up is quite wide. Something like a Rode M2 which has a super-cardiod pattern would be better suited to the job.