Methodical and strategic Diagnosis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a novice but have had an interest for many years. I have been an Automotive diagnostic technician for my entire life and have done well. I have recently made a decision to pursue electronics blindly and am encountering difficulty breaking problems down in to their respective categories.

I currently have a powered subwoofer in front of me. The transformer was shot. I managed to find the fuse leads in series with the primaries. Fuse is inaccessable so I soldered fuse externally in series with primaries. I tested transformer with ohm meter, then with a light bulb limiter and finally i plugged in to receptacle and tested with voltmeter.
I know now that transformer is good but believe there to be a short circuit on the PCB. At a glance, It has a rectifier, voltage regulators and output transistors along with the many resistors, diodes and capacitors.
Instead of always coming back to ask dumb questions fishing for repair tips, I would like to learn to test and repair myself the correct way.
Please help.

Last edited:
Here is my diy variac with repaired transformer connected to PCB switched on. Good or not?

Attachments

• IMG_2031.JPG
    IMG_2031.JPG
    895 KB · Views: 123
A variac is a type of continuously variable auto-transformer used to bring up the supply voltage gradually. What I believe you meant was you are using a bulb limiter, as pictured.

The bulb limiter is a good way to check for and limit large current draws and to protect circuitry from damage. It is especially useful for powering up either new construction or a repaired item for the first time.

I'll assume you are at least fleetingly familiar with a DMM for automotive electrical diagnostics. You will need to get familiar with basic go / no-go testing of individual electronic components.