Wild Burrow Betsy Ported Speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a beginner to speaker building, but I have been researching designs for about a year now and am ready to start building.

So, I took a look at the Wild Burrow Betsy speakers. I want to utilize a full range driver, since being familiar with electrical engineering I cant help but feel crossovers are more trouble than they can be worth with a simple project, and just another variable in the design that can go wrong.

I want relatively balanced sound, but I do like my bass. If I use the Betsy in a ported enclosure, it ends up being huge (55" x 34" x21") but that doesn't phase me. I also get (according to design calculators) an F3 of 18 hz, which is plenty low. The only problem is the parameters of the Betsy:
Re 5.9 ohms
Fs 49.630Hz
Sd 22.966
BL 4.166
Qms 4.567
Qes .945
Qts .783
Spl 92.4db
Vas 86.387L
Mms 8.916g
Is it wise using a driver in a ported system with such a high Qts? Is there some factor that I am not considering with my driver choice that could lead to disaster? Im just looking for some guidance here before I commit.
(I also modeled the Betsy K, but I don' like what happened to the bass extension)

What design calculator did you use?

I can't see using a driver with a Qt over .7 in a vented box. It would take a pretty big sealed box to keep it from booming badly. Betsy is meant for open baffle use. Should be pretty nice on OB, though.

If you want a box speaker you really need to use Betsy-K. The box still winds up being pretty big, but you should be able to get a quality 40 Hz. Search the archives for an MLTL design for Betsy-K, that's probably what I'd build given the choice.

You won't find a lot of full-rangers that will dig below 40 Hz, 18 is a pipe dream IMO. That's sub-woofer territory. A full-range + sub (aka FAST around here) might be a better target design.

Happy hunting!

Bill