Maple/Mathematica/Matlab hornresp program

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking at modelling a horn response similar to what David McBean did in his 'hornresp' program, but using probably Maple or Mathematica. I would be interested to know if anyone else has attempted this. I don't want to reinvent the wheel.

I also am wondering what model David McBean used in hornresp. The only comment I can find is that his work is based on Olson's horn model. If anyone (David I don't know if you will read this) knows more about the specifics of what was put into the hornresp program in terms of the physics, assumptions and equations I would appreciate hearing about. As I hope to develop such a model in Maple and/or Mathematica, I will share my results after I have had a chance to check it against David McBean's hornresp program. My background is a Ph.D. in physics with a strong mathematical background. I have previously written programs in Maple and Matlab, and am trying to come up to speed in Mathematica.

Thanks for any help any one can offer.

I'd second the suggestion from jcx, consider the open source equivalents. I especially like the scipy/numpy/ipython/matplotlib/sympy tools and they really have come forward to be very viable and productive development environment recently and are very much aimed at scientific community wanting to just get in and be productive without having to worry too much about the programming side of things.

iPython is one tool I have really found very useful lately with its new features such as 'notebooks' that let you do development in a web browser and make prototyping blocks of code simple fast and interactive.

Thanks to all for reply on maple etc hornresp program