Confused noob: Need a USB DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone

I'm a noob and I've recently just built a jaycar siliconchip headphone amplifier with some help from the guys over at the rockgrotto forums. Its currently sounding great with my Audio Technica A900X cans.

However I've been currently using a Samsung Galaxy Tab (GTP-1000) as source with the Voodoo Kernel to best take advantage of the WM8994 ultra low power DAC. However I know full well that it isn't a substitute for a good quality DAC.

I've been doing some research on various forums but I need a bit more guidance on which is better.

The ObjectiveDA is one candidate but my concern is the fact that it's powered by USB only and shouldn't that introduce interference from the computer?

Another like this from hifimediy can be powered by a separate power supply. However I don't know whether or not the chip set on this works as good, worse or better than the ObjectiveDA. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Ultimately I could just save myself a headache and buy a DAC from audio-gd like the NFB2.32, but this is $500 bucks!!

Any tips, suggestions are more than welcome.

Regards,
Vince

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Good questions.

I don't think you'll find a USB powered DAC that is really free of the USB power noise for a low price. My M-Audio card is USB powered (or external) and is amazingly quiet. They've done a great job on the power supply. But it's a $200 box.

If you can find one with separate power, that may be the best way to go. It has usually been so for me. Really cheap USB DACs are very noisy by ear and by measurement. Better power supplies also sound more dynamic than cheap ones.

Yeah that's where I think USB powered DACs ultimately fall flat on their face.