Upgrade opamps in Asus Xonar Essence One DAC - advice needed?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to all this, so have been trying to piece together information from forum posts/user feedback etc... Being able to speak to someone who knows their stuff directly would be very helpful!

As stock the DAC uses the following opamp setup (all swappable via DIP8 sockets)

I/V Stage = 4 x NE5532P
Low pass filter stage = 2 x NE5532P
RCA Output buffer = 1 x 4562NA
XLR Output buffer = 2 x 4562NA (I don't use the XLR outputs, so no need to change)

I have also read comments claiming the 49720HA is superior to the 4562NA/49720NA (same chip?) due to the metal cap shielding so that is the most obvious choice for upgrading the RCA output stage... I have also heard good things about the single version (49710HA) which I could incorporate using a dual TO99>DIP-8 adapter. This gets a bit more pricier though, so and I'm not sure it's worth the expense?

The NE5532P is widely reputed as cheaper/mass market chip and there is apparently more room for improvement here than anywhere else... so my main priority is to upgrade the I/V and LPF stages (which both use this chip - 6 in total).

A few users have reported excellent results using
dual soic LME49990 DIP8s on adapters. I can get these from eBay:

DUAL SOIC LME49990 DIP8 ADAPTER | eBay

To upgrade all 6 will work out at £60. However I've read a few reports that these run very hot on the I/V section, and can oscillate if used on the LPF. Given that people use them regardless, is this a serious issue? Would it be a better idea stability to replace the NE5532s with 49720HA aswell?

Please bare in mind that the Xonar E1 DAC has swapabble opamp sockets through out, so I hope that the surrounding circuitry is designed to cope with different configurations as "upgrading" is encouraged.