Omni Ribbon

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am in the proces of making a omni ribbon like the one from Raal.
URL]

Here the steelwork.There is 16 magnets 70x10x6mm.
More later.

Bernt"Båndsei"

HI Bernt

Which way are the magenetic poles of your magnets facing?

Outwards as per a planar bass unit or face to face as in a normal ribbon tweeter.
If the former , this may account for your low sensitivity.

Also are you using a transformer ? - how are these units being driven?

I find diy ribbon speakers fascinating. I have had some experience with commercial low cost ribbon drivers, most notably the HiVi $40 or so ribbon tweeters, the lower cost Beston ribbon tweeters, and the larger (and, prior to Chinese Neodymium Ripoff, very inexpensive) Dayton ribbon midrange-tweeters. The Daytons, in particular, sound very good to me, and are still inexpensive enough to justify purchase of 4-6 units for an array. I am currently using 2 of these mounted on top (!) of smaller MTM home brew (dual 5" woofer, single Titanium dome tweeter) small (12 x 10 x 7 inch) boxes, mounted under a desk (which is why the top mounted ribbons). For home brew speakers these sound pretty good.

Has anyone here tried to use radial wire embedded in the speaker membrane for a home brew ribbon?

In the first model with 16 ribbons magnets are outwards in the second one with 6 ribbons they are face to face.Resistance is 3.5 ohm,so no use for transformer.

I am only using small tape behind the membrane and 16mm on top and bottom.
Later i may use mylar .

Bernt

Last edited:
I could recommend you to put damping material in the middle, and try to make it more stuffed in the middle and less stuffed towards the ribbons.

Also try to have som tension in the ribbon itself, that will give you some more output, and make sure the ribbons is well centered in the magnet gap.

Good luck!