Hi, I just fried my DAC. Suggestions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
not a complete newbie but might as well be given my abilities..Following an inadvertant slip with a scope probe I have apparently fried my 1798 DAC. Don't laugh but I was putting a valve output stage onto it (audiophool at heart), the slip was the relevant problem rather than the tube stage which works....Weird buzzing is all I can get now. It sounded pretty damn good before. I think the probe went over the 1,2,3 pins, but wasn't looking so can't be sure. Anyway I'm thinking could I buy another DAC chip, soler it in (SMD) and get away with it or might I have I shagged the whole shebang?

Also can a person of my feeble abilities work out the above (with help natch)? Or would I be better getting a new DAC kit and save the heartache given it has a solid PSU and tweaked bits n bobs, and if so what can you recommend that will sound really good that a feeb like me might be able to build/mod?
Thank you in advance, and being in UK I'm off to bed so apologies if the reply doesn't arrive 'till tomorrow.

I don't see how you could have damaged anything if you are sure about which pins you may have shorted. Pins 1 thru 7 are all inputs for data, clock & mode selections, and are all rated to handle either B+ or grounding, and shorting any of them together should not have caused any harm. Even if it did, it is extremely unlikely to cause buzz as a symptom. I think you must have either shorted different pins than you think, or have a purely coincidental, unrelated problem.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Valves... so could you have shorted or connected anything that was charged up (even a floating coupling cap) to the DAC/or PCB as that could zap it.