• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New Tim Mellows OTL project

Hi,

This is my first post so bear with me please,

I have been collecting parts to build the Tim Mellows OTL for about 3 months now and have now started the build..

This is my second recent valve project , I did build a Mullard 5-10 back in the 70s so I chose the Mullard 3 -3 stereo as my return valve listening (mainly due to having the ef86 /el84 tubes + transformers from an old tape recorder) it sounds fantastic but it is not quite loud enough.
I have spent the year playing with different circuits and Tim,s circuit seems the most sensible OTL yet, so I have decided to go with it... I will post pictures of the progress as I go.

6733748103_6b2fb656c7_m.jpg

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Hi smith01793 only one of the images is coming up for me. If I open the links in a new tab they work. You might want to try attaching the images direct.

Click the Go Advanced button and you have a section to manage attachments.

edit: make that two are visible the last one works too.

Tony.

Last edited:
To me, and no offence to Tim or anyone else--The design is fundimentally flawed in its feedback loop.

The FB gain changes depending on input vol-pot position, this is sure to change the character of the sound depending on the volume control position!

Ive tried this type of FB, and was never happy with this 'colouring' effect.....