mixer circuits (looking for simple, but very high quality)...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am guitar player and I am in need of a mixer to mix my effects.

All I need is a simple 2-channel mixer so that I can mix in a couple of rack effects, an Eventide DSP4000 and a Lexicon PCM91.

I am sure that all are aware that these are high quality processors and I do not want to degrade their sound by sending them through a cheap mixer.

I have some electronics background so I figured that I could build my own and I should add that size is a factor (in other words, really I don't want a rack unit).

I started to look at a bunch of mixer schematics that are available on the web. Everything from home grown mixers to mixers that are put out by highly-rated/high-quality manufacturers.

What I have found is that there are many mixer topologies (is that the right term?) meaning there are many different solutions to get the mixing done (did that make any sense?).

What I am wondering is what is the "best" mixer topology that will degrade my tone the least?

Thanks in advance.

dfe

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
A mixer need be nothing more than a "virtual earth" opamp configuration.

Just because it's simple doesn't mean it's no good. The only downside to a single opamp stage is that it inverts the signal so needs another inverting buffer to put it back again (if absolute phase is important to you).

Look at this,
Universal Preamp/ Mixer

Figure 2 is all you need for a mixer.
Figure 1 adds an input buffer, tone control and phase inversion (to counter the effect of phase inversion in the mixer).

The opamp (TL072)... well although you can substitute it for something else, don't discount it until you have at least tried one such a circuit.

Mooly,

Thanks for the reply.

Just because it's simple doesn't mean it's no good.

I agree.