• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Need help evaluating 2A3 transformer coupled designs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Everyone,

I'm rather new to tube circuits and for some reason seem to be drawn to 2A3 based designs that feature interstage transformers for coupling. I suppose it is their simplicity that attract me...

I mainly listen to classical, pop, and jazz music at low volume levels, so I'm not concerned with low power output and cost is not really an issue.

Anyhow, I really have no idea how to evaluate the design itself and was wondering if a few of you who have more experience can help me. I found a nice looking design posted on the web by Ralph Powers that I find interesting:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I was wondering if anyone has any comments about or critique of this design or a reason why I should not build it.

thanks!
Eric

the 417A has I think 4 grid connections or pins on each tube so what "G" means is to solder one 200R resistor to each of the grid connections (on the tube socket of course :) and then twist together the 4 leads on the unsoldered side of the resistors and then you connect your input here.

BB

None:whazzat:

The has been pulled apart for awhile because I wanted to redo the chassis plate. I was using a 1/8" thick piece of steel and originally 6B4G's. Then I changed to 2A3's and of course had to open up the holes so I used a dremel tool and file and it did not look as good as the originally machine shop punched holes:)

Anyway, at the time I was using a pair of "Afterburners" which are Thorstens idea, which are for lack of a better expression a