PTT (Push to talk) Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a racing headset. I took a headset wire (TA5FL / Mini-XLR) and put a TRRS plug on the end so I can use in with my phone.

It works perfect with my friends iphone and someone elses non-iphone.

With MY phone, I have to press the PTT button on top of the headset to use the microphone.

How does push-to-talk work and why does it work automatically on other peoples phones but not mine?

Also, please understand that I am a beginner, so please dumb down the explanation for me to understand. I don't even know what ground MEANS. lol. I'd like to know what to do to make me not have to press the PTT button.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

opc

Joined 2004
Paid Member
What country are the phones made in? Your pin-out is only correct for European and Chinese standard headsets. In North America the standard is to swap the MIC an GND pins around.

Try swapping the MIC and GND pins (reverse the red and black wires) and see if that does the trick.

Cheers,
Owen

That didn't work. :( OK, let me explain this more.

Here is the wire I am trying to convert. It connects a headset to a Motorola walkie-talkie (2-way radio):

To talk, you need to push the button on the walkie-talkie, OR push a button on the top of the headset, OR use VOX (voice activated) mode on the walkie-talkie.

Here is a close up of the 2-pin and what I am told the pin-out is:

And here is the mention on Yahoo Answers:
Pinout of a motorola 2 pin connector? - Yahoo! Answers

I have no idea what "paralleling the resistors" means. Could that be my problem?

Here is my deduction of the pin-out of the 2-pin Motorola TA5FL wire: