First time DIY speakers from scratch? (please, be gental)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm Tyler. I wish to build a set of speakers for my room. This is my first post, please be gental!:(

I understand alot of people come on this forum (and many like it) and start asking away with stupid questions that could have been easily answered had they just done a small bit of research. Or people come on with high expections. I have alot of expierience with those people on many different forums (cars are my thing). I am not one of those people, I have spent a fair bit of time researching DIY speakers and kits, and I feel overwhelmed. I have confidence this is somthing I can do, however, I am no expert. The great part of forums is that people who are not experts can talk with people how are and get there input.

I have a mini theater set up in my bedroom. I have a a 15" dayton subwoofer in a 5.5' ported enclusure with a 250w parts express subwoofer amp (I love partsexpress). I also have a CRT projector, nice htpc, and a Harman Kardon AVR225 reciever (55x5, fyi), and 5 rat shack speakers ($20 at a yard sale, got more then I paid for, cant beat that, right?)

As im sure you can see, my speakers are my weak points.

The spekers i wish to build will be about 8 feet apart, and about 8 feet away from the listener, in a room that is 12x9.

What I would like to do is make 5 speakers for around $400. Yeah, I know its not alot, but I have other priorities. My main concern is that my front LR speakers are very musical, I use my system for about 70 percent music, and I want my center channel to be clean for my movies. The rear speakers are my least concern (may just get a couple small full range speakers in a couple sealed enclosures). Woodwork (or the like) is not a problem for me.