2 channel headphone amp for novice?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

total noob here, hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I've been reading for hours and my head is spinning!

My wife has some mild hearing loss and has trouble hearing when we sit down to watch a movie together. I don't have a lot to spend, but I am trying to put together something which will give her greater clarity so she doesn't miss so much.

I had thought that the best thing for starters would probably be a headphone amp and a decent set of headphones.

I have got as far as learning that one can build a CMoy amp which could do the job. I guess I could split the signal and build two so that we could both listen the same way.

I don't have any experience in this, but I am pretty technical and I'm sure I could follow a good set of instructions. Long term I can see it becomming a real hobby, but for now I would just like to follow instructions.

Anyway, I am hoping someone could point me in the right direction on this one. I guess I am wondering the best way to get a 2 channel heaphone amp on the cheap for a total noob!

Thanks for reading!
J

I've done a little soldering here and there. Most complicated was soldering the power supply back onto the motherboard of a laptop, but I have no experience reading and interpreting schematics, and I don't really know what all the parts do, so I would need a good walkthrough.

The O2 looks great, but I can't see a good walkthrough and it is a little intimdating at the moment. Thanks for the tip though, it might be a future project.

One way to think around the box would be to buy a pair of high efficiency headphones, and regular headphone jacks would sound much louder.