• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Interstage Transformer Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi @all

i'm new to tubes and planning my first project. So i did a good read in literature and did some spice simulations to get a better understanding.

The project is a 2 stage interstage-coupled KT88 PP amp (see attachment). But there are some things related to the interstage transformer which i didn't understand. Hopefully someone can help me out?!

I know that transformer-modells in spice are somewhat limited and it's hard to get the needed data from manufacturers. Elsewhere i read as a rule of thumb that the impedance of the IT should be 3 times the internal plate resistance of the driver.

5842 has a plate resistance around 1,6-1,7k. If i use the model for an 1:1+1 IT with 5k impendance (primary) i get an bump on the secondary in the area
around 1800 Hz. This can only be cured if i place two resistors on the secondary to center ground which have an value 10-20k which lowers the gain. Are there any other downsides if i use the resitors?

If i use instead a IT with a lower impedance like the lundahl 1660 (3.5k) than the 1,8k-bump disappears.

So how to select the impedance of a IT? Or is the bump irrelevant cause it's canceled out due to opposite effects on the secondarys?

Another question: I've read that the inductance of the IT determines the lower frequency response. If i understand it correctly the IT should have an Inductance of min 13,5H to reach 20HZ with an 5842 (1700/2*pi*20).

Thanks in advance
Galac