• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

71A

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently bought a nice pair of Westinghouse 71A's. They look very cool, but I wonder what is the purpose of the little metal piece protruding from the base to the side?

Attachments

• IMG_4346_.JPG
    IMG_4346_.JPG
    133 KB · Views: 1,743
  • IMG_4347_.JPG
    IMG_4347_.JPG
    105.1 KB · Views: 1,705
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
The 71A has an UX4 base, I've never used it before but I believe it doesn't have a 'collar' so to speak. Perhaps in the old days some had?

Yes.. I've got a few of the old style sockets here. The tubes twist in the base and lock.

71A is noted for having misaligned filaments. (I've got more than a few useless ones for this reason) Check yours to make sure that the filaments are relatively equidistant from both sides of the grid. You can do this by looking carefully down from the top making note that the curvature of the dome may be misleading.

Last edited:
Not totally useless. They will amplify. An OK regen radio could be made.

A 71A / 6DJ8 switchable sound processer was built yesterday. Combination of 71A and line transformer NP-8 ex-Tango works nicely.The primary coil of NP-8 was connected in parallel, so its impedance ratio changed to 2.5Kohm from 10Kohm , and eventually the transformation ratio has become 1:0.49. This solution fits to a low amplification factor 3 of 71A.
Incidentally the thread of #26 in this forum was of informative and valuable for me.

Operating condition of 71A:
Plate voltage: 122V
Plate current: 10mA
Grid bias: -26V

Sound impression:
Good in transparency on 71A, while wider range on 6DJ8-SRPP.