• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

K-16ls + ton pcb (just finished pics)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, since im new here i will take this time to introduce my self, i am an electronics engineer and have loved music and amplifiers since as long as i can remember and every type of media music can be stored on.

Here's my story of how i came to posses a k-16ls tube kit, it all started about 5 years ago when i bought a pye cambrige table top valve radio from a junk store (not working) with every intention to fix it but alas my experience ends with ghettoblasters and solid state hi fi as i collect and repair these.

so the radio got shelved, but recently about 4 months ago i met someone through work who explained how valves work and this made me want to try and fix that old radio, so i tried and after a lot of time and "borrowing" parts from work i got it going (did not sound good) after a while fixed all the issues and was so impressed by the almost HD like sound that i wanted an amp in stereo so i got looking and found this kit (wanted all valve i did see the hybrid docks etc) from s5 electrinics (the shock of the import tax nearly gave me a heart attack when it arrived).

so i assembled it on the supplied wood and fired it up (took about 2 hours to built the main kit and tone board) no issues and it sounded lovely out of the kit so to speak.

then i decided to case it, see pics i built this case myself from mdf and tin the only part i cant claim rights to is the top which was taken from an old vcr.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.