Project Tang Band W8-1772 / Brines Accoustics TT-2000

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

So I've just started on my new project - building a pair of full range speakers. Since I'm quite new to DIY, at least when it comes to speakerbuilding I would appreciate some input and help from you guys with a lot more experience than myself.

I got the drivers yesterday, and now I'm currently studying the plans that Mr Bob Brines sent me a couple of days ago. First thing that comes to my mind is that he suggests using 3/4 inch (19mm) MDF. Is there anything that would improve the construction like if I use birch plywood instead? My local dealer can get me that, but only in 18mm and 22mm thickness...

I'm looking forward to hear your oppinion about this, thanks :)

If your plans are anything like the LT-2000 ones, Bob specifies MDF lined with a plaster/cement board. He also specifies a ply alternative, I think of 18mm lined with 6mm. It is best to email him or read through the posts on the Brines Acousitcs forum where this has been discussed several times for various enclosures.

David Whistance

Here's the deal:

All of my plans were drawn on the assumption of 3/4" material with a 1/4" liner. If you omit the liner, the cabinet volume changes. So.... You need to line the cabinet with something 1/4" thick (6mm) is close enough.

I tired of fighting the MDF/BB battle. I am using 3/4" quality plywood for my commercial products. I line them with 1/4" plywood attached with an elastic adhesive -- "Liquid Nails" in my case. This provides some constrained layer damping and takes up the required volume. I remain convinced tha 3/4" MDF/cement board is a good combination.