Rant about lack of objective measurements in DIY audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I woke up a bit cranky this morning and just wanted to rant about my biggest gripe with the DIY audio community: the lack of objective measurements. I was reading reviews of a kit I’m bidding for on e-bay, and couldn’t find a single review with any measurement data. They all described their own subjective opinion of the sound. And the evaluations were all over the place; everywhere from “the best 2-way monitor I’ve ever heard!” to “pretty good for the price”

Even when I read reviews in major magazines written by professionals, they give a brief overview of their measurements, if they have any, then say something like “Now on to the important stuff: What do they sound like?”

I’m a scientist, and I know that no publication would dream of publishing subjective opinion as data. It is far too influenced by the person’s expectations, context in which the judgment is made, and desires (what the person wants to see/hear). With respect to audio: How a component sound to one person playing their music in their room connected to their series of components tells me very little about how it will sound to me playing my music in my room connected to my stereo.

Of course, proponents of subjective evaluations will point out that no objective measurements can tell one how a component will sound. Human hearing is too complex, and too poorly understood to be reduced to a series of numbers and graphs. I agree with this completely, but that doesn’t mean that objective measurements have no value.