Door wont open on my X707ES CD Player

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I left a CD in my CD player (Sony X707ES) overnight.

The player reads CD's from beginning to end with no problems. In fact, I played several times Nat King Cole's Greatest Hits, which is over 74 minutes long with absolutely no issues at all. The Laser seems to be OK!?!?!? . . . right???

However, when I tried to open the player, I can hear the motor trying to open the door, but the door just refuses to open. When it stops trying to open the door, I can hear the CD spinning inside, but nothing happens. It will not play the CD.

I have previously had problems with the door opening, and I obtained the replacement belt to rectify the problem, though I have not replaced the belt yet.

It seems that the player will not release the CD so that the door can go to open mode (I'm a novice at this) because when the door would open previously, I remember hearing a sound like a click (sort of) when the disc itself is released. I don't hear that now. Now I just hear the whirring sound of the motor trying to open the door, which remains stuck closed.

I do know that the sound from this particular player is amongst the best I have listened to, and I would like to get this glitch fixed.

I heard that there may be a defect somewhere in the circuit board on an electrical piece that controls the opening/closing of the door, but I can't seem to find that information.

When I first got this player, I took off the top to have a look, and I did notice that there were a number of red lights on the circuit board to the right of the drawer. They were all lit except one, which was not lit. I did not interfere with it as the player was working fine as far as reading discs from beginning to end.

I would really appreciate any and all comments, especially from those of you who have experienced similar difficulties.

Thanks in advance