Omni-directional for live performance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'd like an omni-directional speaker for use in live performance (primarily keyboards and electronics).

Here are some design goals:

-Capable of handling signals from keyboard/laptop
-Omni-directional so it excites the room in ways similar to acoustic instrument
-Integrated digital amplifier (perhaps from 41hz.com kit or similar)
-Simple design
-Loud enough for live use
-As small and lightweight as possible

I have not built speakers before, though I have built various guitar effects pedals and the like and can read schematics and solder. I am a musician, but I have not found anything quite like what I want, so I'd like to build something.

What advice do you have? Thanks a lot.

Tendencially difficult, i guess, since for omnidirectional behaviour you need small drivers without waveguides or horns and for live performance (higher spl) you need big drivers with waveguides or horns.

For a hifi omni design, check siegfried linkwitz homepage... i think its called pluto.

If it's truly omnidirectional, I see tons of feedback issues down the road if you have any microphones :)
Yes, I had thought of that...I don't currently have plans to use microphones. Perhaps occasionally electro-magnetic pickups, but probably not air microphones.

Some people use these hemispheres:

Electrotap - Hemisphere

But it seems like there could be a more elegant solution.

Thanks for the ideas. For simplicity, one full-range would probably be easiest. For example,

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/131989-small-speaker-based-tb-3-bamboo.html

Though I'd probably want a more efficient speaker and one with better bass response.

My current keyboard amp has these specs:

Power Amplifier – 50-watts RMS/channel, (100-watt RMS total)
Speakers – Two 8” Eminence Alpha, 125-watt, 8 ohms
Horns – Two 80-watt 3.5X3.5 Ferro cooled dynamic