PCM1704 advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm making a DAC for myself and am laying out the pcb at the moment. I have a couple of final questions I'm hoping the experts here can help out with:

- Does the 1704 benefit from having seperate analog/digital supplies (though grounded together)? The datasheet says it doesn't but I'm not sure whether to believe it.

- What's the best value of capacitance to use for the BPO/Servo/Ref DC caps? I've seen some boards use different values than the recommended ones, and some say to use as large caps as possible.
- Also, a sub-question, do these DC caps need to be as close as possible to the chip like the bypass caps or is it ok for them to be a little further out?

- Does anyone out there have any app notes or any other good info for this chip? I've seen a diagram or two floating around but TI won't supply me with anything since I'm just a diy hobbyist and not Denon or something :(

Thanks for reading.

I'm making a DAC for myself and am laying out the pcb at the moment. I have a couple of final questions I'm hoping the experts here can help out with:

- Does the 1704 benefit from having seperate analog/digital supplies (though grounded together)? The datasheet says it doesn't but I'm not sure whether to believe it.

- What's the best value of capacitance to use for the BPO/Servo/Ref DC caps? I've seen some boards use different values than the recommended ones, and some say to use as large caps as possible.
- Also, a sub-question, do these DC caps need to be as close as possible to the chip like the bypass caps or is it ok for them to be a little further out?

- Does anyone out there have any app notes or any other good info for this chip? I've seen a diagram or two floating around but TI won't supply me with anything since I'm just a diy hobbyist and not Denon or something :(

Thanks for reading.