• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

e bay op tranformers opinion please

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As nubie, I am trying to find some op transformers for my first Simple SE amp build.
I have read as many se transformers thread as I can find, so understand I am still learning about this stuff.
I was looking at E Bay for transendar, or some other op transformers and came across these:
OUTPUT TRANSFORMER 35W EL34 6CA7 TUBE AMP GUITAR AMP X2 on eBay.ca (item 380129776601 end time 04-Nov-09 19:44:47 EST)

Could somebody tell me their opinion as to how these would be for a simple se build.
They are from a Canadian source, which is good for me, as well they are rated for 35 watts rms with 2 EL34. Priced at $99USD for a pair. Is the fact it is listed as a gitar amp transformer make it not useable for a SE?
Any guidence in this would be a great help.
Cheers Ron.

Last edited:
I would not recommend that because it looks like a P-P OT which won't work for SE, and a SE amp is going to be a much lower wattage. I would recommend looking at Edcor SE OT's. I am sure that George can point you in the right direction. Also do a search here for Simple SE and what output tube you plan on using. I am sure many have built one similar to yours and will have info on what they used

Thanks for the info SigloOne.
I was looking at the Hammond's but some threads here said the new ones are not that good.
I was looking at that ebay listing because they were from a Canadian source.
e bay did not list any transendors.
Edcors might be the way to go
I was thinking of useing the EL34 tubes.
Cheers Ron.