Sensitivity of human hearing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm not an expert at reading SPL/frequency/impedance charts but am curious... Does anyone happen to know when we humans can begin to hear a change in the amount of decibels? Can we hear a difference say between 1 and 2 decibels? Or does it take more than that to tell?

Your advice and opinions are appreciated.

Thanks,
Retroman

What!

I couldn't resist.

The answer to your question is a bit mixed. A change in Sound Pressure Level of 1 decibel is the threshold of most people to distinguish a difference in sound level in a very quiet environment. Be louder or softer. What most people consider twice as loud is 10 decibels. Or 1 Bell.

When real life catches up to us in normal environments that are busy and noisy a difference in about 3 db is what most people detect as a change up or down.

People with acute hearing can hear even less than a decibel. For instance people who play a musical instrument tune to 10ths of 1 hz and listen intently to small and subtle changes in loudness. Most people when trained can do this as long as they don't have any significant hearing loss. It's a bit of being aware of what goes on and you start to pay attention to it more.

Hope this helps a bit.

Mark

Playing with EQ and RTA simultaneously (like sound card or something like DEQ2496), you may judge for yourself. 'Practicing' with them make 'better' sensitivity to an extent.

In the mid-high frequency range, narrow band difference of 1db within pink noise is audible (to me). Not significant though. As Mark stated above, you have to concentrate to distinguish the difference. If the loudness difference is applied to a wider range, say 1-2 octaves or larger, than it'll be easier to detect.

This is a question that is often misunderstood because of the textbook definitions.